Elsevier Accessibility Interest Group

Campus Information Technologies and Educational Services (CITES) and Disability Resources and Educational Services (DRES)

University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign

Meetings and Teleconferences

Library is one of the most fundamental resource for any student and faculty. Many articles, books and journals are offered on-line and many old and paper-based resources have been transformed into a kind of electronic format. The on-line availability of resources gives the researchers the opportunity to conduct their researches and studies more effectively and productively so now any member of university community can access the library on-line resources any time at his/her convenience and from any place. This can increases the quality and productivity of the researches significantly.
Unfortunately, this great resource is not fully accessible to the users with disabilities and as the result disabled users are not able to perform their researches and studies independently or within a reasonable time and compete with their peer-partner properly.

We just started Elsevier Accessibility Working Group to work collaboratively with our partners in other educational institutions and Elsevier product manager and application developers to identify accessibility problems with the Elsevier Web interfaces and resolve them in such a way that the Web interfaces can be more accessible and usable to everyone including users with disabilities. Please consider to join us in this effort. You can find out how to join this group in the Discussion List section below.

currently we are conducting accessibility testing and evaluation on:

Note that the reported issues are not complete and does not cover all corners of the application. We will be adding more issues as we identify them or receive them.

Teleconference info

Agenda for the next meeting/teleconference

Open Action Items

Update on Issue lists
Person responsible: Hadi Rangin
Status: In progress

Upcoming meetings/Teleconferences

No planned meetings/teleconferences

Minutes for Previous meetings/Teleconferences

Meeting on 2007-10-10 at 10:00 AM EDT; 9:00 AM CDT; 8:00 AM MDT; 7:00 AM PDT
Meeting on 2007-09-07 at 10:00 AM EDT; 9:00 AM CDT; 8:00 AM MDT; 7:00 AM PDT
Meeting on 2007-08-23 at 10:00 AM EDT; 9:00 AM CDT; 8:00 AM MDT; 7:00 AM PDT
Meeting on 2007-06-26 at 10:30 AM EDT; 9:30 AM CDT; 8:30 AM MDT; 7;30 AM PDT
Meeting on 2007-05-18 at 10:00 AM EDT; 9:00 AM CDT; 8:00 AM MDT; 7:00 AM PDT
Meeting on 2007-05-10 at 10:00 AM EDT; 9:00 AM CDT; 8:00 AM MDT; 7:00 AM PDT  

Discussion List