Ebsco Accessibility Interest Group

Campus Information Technologies and Educational Services (CITES) and Disability Resources and Educational Services (DRES)

University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign

Meetings and Teleconferences

Library is one of the most fundamental resource for any student and faculty. Many articles, books and journals are offered on-line and many old and paper-based resources have been transformed into a kind of electronic format. The on-line availability of resources gives the researchers the opportunity to conduct their researches and studies more effectively and productively so now any member of university community can access the library on-line resources any time at his/her convenience and from any place. This can increases the quality and productivity of the researches significantly.
Unfortunately, this great resource is not fully accessible to the users with disabilities and as the result disabled users are not able to perform their researches and studies independently or within a reasonable time and compete with their peer-partner properly.

We have established this collaboration group to work collaboratively with our partners in other educational institutions and Ebsco application developers to identify accessibility problems with the Web interfaces to Ebsco database and resolve them in such a way that the Web interfaces can be more accessible and usable to everyone including users with disabilities. Please consider to join us in this effort. You can find out how to join this group in the Discussion List section below.

We have generated several detailed accessibility reports on Ebsco product including video clips illustrating the interaction with the Ebsco database using Jaws screen reader.

We have conducted extensive accessibility testing and evaluation on Regular interface to Ebsco Academic Search Premier which became the basis for our collaboration with Ebsco Publishing. Ebsco development team has quickly acted on the reported issues and addressed most of the accessibility issues in their newly redesigned interface. We are very pleased that Ebsco has responded to our collaboration efforts so positively and quickly. We are glad to see that any researcher from anywhere in the world can benefit from the new interface including researchers with disabilities.

Note that the reported issues might not be complete and does not cover all corners of the application. Our collaboration with Ebsco will continue and we will test and evaluate the accessibility of Ebsco Web interfaces and report to them as we identify new issues, and of course, we will be working with them to resolve them.

No planned meetings/teleconferences

Upcoming meetings/Teleconferences

No planned meetings/teleconferences

Minutes for Previous meetings/Teleconferences

Meeting on 2008-12-11 at 10:00 AM EST; 9:00 AM CST; 8:00 AM MST; 7:00 AM PST
Meeting on 2008-09-05 at 2:00 PM EDT; 1:00 PM CDT; 12:00 PM MDT; 11:00 AM PDT
Meeting on 2008-02-07 at 2:00 PM EST; 1:00 Pm CST; 12:00 PM MST; 11:00 AM PST
Meeting on 2007-10-12 at 12:00 PM EDT; 11:00 AM CDT; 10:00 AM MDT; 9:00 AM PDT
Meeting on 2007-09-07 at 11:00 AM EDT; 10:00 AM CDT; 9:00 AM MDT; 8:00 AM PDT
Meeting on 2007-07-09 at 11:00 AM EDT; 10:00 AM CDT; 9:00 AM MDT; 8:00 AM PDT
Meeting on 2007-06-29 at 11:00 AM EDT; 10:00 AM CDT; 9:00 AM MDT; 8:00 AM PDT
Meeting on 2007-05-18 at 11:00 AM EDT; 10:00 AM CDT; 9:00 AM MDT; 8:00 AM PDT
Meeting on 2007-05-04 at 11:00 AM EDT; 10:00 AM CDT; 9:00 AM MDT; 8:00 AM PDT
Meeting on 2007-04-05 at 11:00 AM EDT; 10:00 AM CDT; 9:00 AM MDT; 8:00 AM PDT
Meeting on 2007-03-16 at 10:00 AM CDT
Meeting on 2007-02-23 at 9:00 AM CST
Meeting on 2007-02-02 at 9:00 AM CST
Meeting on 2006-12-18 at 3:00 PM CST
Meeting on 2006-12-14 at 10:30 AM - 10:45 AM CST
Meeting on 2006-11-02 at 10:00 AM
Meeting on 2006-10-11 at 1:30 PM CDT
Meeting on 2006-05-24 at 2:00 PM EDT; 1:00 PM CDT; 12:00 PM MDT; 11:00 AM PDT

Discussion List