Blackboard Accessibility Interest Group

Campus Information Technologies and Educational Services (CITES) and Disability Resources and Educational Services (DRES)

University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign

All Teleconferences

Teleconference Details

Date: 2009-01-27

Time: 4:00 PM EST; 3:00 PM CST; 2:00 PM MST; 1:00 PM PST

Agenda

  1. Update on the WYNN Documentation
  2. Discussion of the list of How To Guides
  3. Effective and useful hints for tutorials for screen reader users
  4. Creating tutorials with Captivate

Minutes

Blackboard BB-Doc Sub Group Teleconference minutes, January 27th, 2009
Scribe: Kevin Price

Next Meeting

Participants

Discussion

Update on the Wynn Discussion

Cheryl could not make it to give the update

Discussion of the list of How To Guides

So far there only been a few submissions. Lisa posted submissions off of the Athen wiki: http://www.athenpro.org/wiki/index.php5?title=%22How_to%22_Accessibility_Guides_for_Students_and_Instructors Overall there haven't been many submissions. Further discussion includes how to proceed with this area.

Effective and useful hints for tutorials for screen reader users

Discussion was on the new screen reader tutorial. The screen reader tutorial has been developed for Blackboard 8.0 and not 9.0. There are many new features in the newer versions for screen reader users so there was a question whether the tutorial will be need to be rewritten for the new version.

Creating tutorials with Captivate

A task for the group members was given by one of the Blackboard employees on how accessibility could be built into the captivate tuturiols. Some examples of developing captivate accessibility was discussed and will be sent out to the group before the next meeting.

Edit teleconference

Discussion List